Teacher Pages‎ > ‎Media‎ > ‎

Phenomenon Webquest

PHENOMENON WEBQUEST

http://www.iloveclipart.com/images/alien-clip-art.jpg

INTRODUCTION

You have been studying unexplained phenomenon. Choose one of the unusual phenomenon and create a Keynote/Powerpoint presentation about your phenomenon.  Use the links provided and other sources to complete your assignment. 

TASK

      Each student should select a topic you have read about and complete your assignment. (Task Definition):    

Visit the links below to helpful websites or find other websites on your own. (Information seeking strategy; location and access)

Accurately and creatively present your information in a Keynote/Powerpoint presentation. (Use of Information; Don't clutter your screen. Remember, less is more!)

Create a graphic organizer to organize your information as you acquire it. (Use of information)

Once all of your information is gathered, begin creating your visual presentation usingKeynote/Powerpoint(Synthesis)

 

EVALUATION

1.  Make a title slide including your name and phenomenon. (1 slide)

2.  Describe what your phenomenon is (at least 1 slide- 20 pts). 

3.   Give at least 2 examples/cases of your phenomenon (at least 2 slides- 30 pts.)

4.  What scientific evidence is there that your phenomenon is explainable?  (at least 2 slides- 20 pts).

5.  Based on your research, do you think your phenomenon is explainable?  Why or why not? (at least 1 slide- 15 pts.)

6.  Correctly Cite the sources that you used (at least 1 slide- 15 pts.)

Total- at least 8 slides


LINKS & CREDITS

 

Wild Boy of Averyon

Feral Children.com    http://www.feralchildren.com/en/showchild.php?ch=victor

Occultopedia   http://www.occultopedia.com/w/wild_boy_aveyron.htm

Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_g2602/is_0002/ai_2602000247/

Killer Bees

Insecta Inspecta World  http://www.insecta-inspecta.com/bees/killer/

University of California Riverside  http://bees.ucr.edu/ahb-facts.html

Sting Shield Insect Veil  http://www.stingshield.com/ahb-index.htm

Voodoo Magic

Unexplainable.net  http://www.unexplainable.net/artman/publish/article_12879.shtml

The Mystic Voodoo  http://www.mysticvoodoo.com/history-of-voodoo.htm

Black Holes

Hubblesite  http://hubblesite.org/explore_astronomy/black_holes/home.html

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center http://imagine.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/science/know_l2/black_holes.html

Bermuda Triangle

National Geographic  http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/series/is-it-real/2698/facts

The Unmuseum  http://www.unmuseum.org/triangle.htm

Bermuda  Triangle Mystery  http://www.bermuda-triangle.org/

Spontaneous Combustion

The Shadowlands http://theshadowlands.net/spon.htm

Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained  http://www.unexplainedstuff.com/Ghosts-and-Phantoms/Spontaneous-Human-Combustion-SHC.html

See the Future

Time http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,967410,00.html

The Haunted Museum http://www.prairieghosts.com/a_lincoln.html

History Channel http://www.history.com/shows/nostradamus-effect/articles/nostradamus-biography

Multiple Personalities

WebMD  http://www.webmd.com/mental-health/dissociative-identity-disorder-multiple-personality-disorder

Spirit Release Foundation http://www.spiritrelease.com/cases/multiplepersonality.htm

Multiple Personality Disorder, Fact or Fiction http://www.personalityresearch.org/papers/cherry2.html

Aliens

Fox News http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,287643,00.html

Daily Mail  http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1037471/Apollo-14-astronaut-claims-aliens-HAVE-contact--covered-60-years.html

Paranormal 51 http://paranormal51.com/detail.html?report_id=103429

Fire Walking

Run the Planet http://www.runtheplanet.com/runningroutes/travelguides/other/firewalk.asp

Firewalking Institute of Research and Education  http://www.firewalking.com/firewalking.jsp

Firewalking Dreams http://www.firewalkingdreams.com/firewalking-history.html

Animals Predicting Earthquakes

National Geographic News  http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2003/11/1111_031111_earthquakeanimals.html

PBS http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/episodes/can-animals-predict-disaster/introduction/130/

USGS http://earthquake.usgs.gov/learn/topics/animal_eqs.php

Poltergeists

The Mystica  http://www.themystica.com/mystica/articles/p/poltergeist.html

Unexplained Mysteries http://www.unexplained-mysteries.com/viewarticle.php?id=25

Comments